29th USAEE Conference
Program Registration Accommodations General Information Sponsors Students Tour/Special Events

Dennis J. O'Brien* USAEE/IAEE Best Student Paper Award

USAEE/IAEE is pleased to announce its 2013 Best Student Paper Award. A top prize of US$1,000 will be given for the best paper in energy economics. Three runner-up prizes of US$500 each will also be given. All four winners will receive a waiver of registration fees to the 2013 North American Conference held in Anchorage July 28-31, 2013. To be considered for the Best Student Paper Award please follow the guidelines below.

To be eligible for consideration, the applicant must

The paper must

  • be original work completed by the student;
  • not be co-authored by a faculty member or non-student (papers co-authored by fellow students are ok).

Application materials consist of

  • Paper abstract; (may be same as abstract submitted to conference, in case one has been submitted);
  • Paper - double-spaced; 8.5 by 11 inch page setup; 30 pages maximum (any paper that exceeds the page limitation will be subject to disqualification);
  • Letter from applicant verifying he/she meets qualifications (include photocopy of student ID);
  • Letter from advisor or faculty member familiar with applicant's research confirming that paper meets qualifications for submission and recommending it for consideration.

Additional Information

  • Please note: in order to receive the award, students must attend the conference and present their paper. All travel and accommodation costs associated with attending the conference are the responsibility of the award recipients.
  • The paper & application deadline is March 25, 2013 Please submit all materials electronically in pdf format to usaee@usaee.org, with "Submission for Anchorage Best Student Paper Award" in the subject line.  You will be notified of an Award by May 23, 2013 as to the disposition of your paper.
  • For further questions regarding the USAEE Student Paper Award, please contact David Williams.

Further note that if you would like to present your paper at the Conference even if it does not receive a Best Paper Award (and thus get presented in a concurrent or poster session), you must follow the regular paper submission procedures, submitting an abstract by February 21, 2013.

* The best paper award honors Dennis J. O'Brien, a champion of students and an early leader of our Association. Dennis J. O'Brien co-founded the US Association of Energy Economics as a chapter of the IAEE in the early 1990s. He was President of the US Chapter during 1994 and 1995. He was President of IAEE for 1997. Those who knew him remember him as being especially dedicated to helping students and energy economics professionals in the early stages of their career. He passed away in 2005 on his return from that year's North American Conference. The awards are funded in part by USAEE members and sponsors who have contributed to the USAEE Student Support Fund.



Call for Papers

Learn more about our Call for Papers. Abstract deadline: February 21, 2013









Conference Secretariat
USAEE/IAEE Headquarters
28790 Chagrin Blvd.,
Suite 350
Cleveland, OH 44122 USA
Tel: 216-464-2785
Fax: 216-464-2768