Dennis J. O'Brien* USAEE/IAEE Best Student Paper Award

The submission deadline for the 2019 Best Student Paper Award has passed. Participants will be informed of the status of their submission by July 28, 2019.

USAEE/IAEE is pleased to announce its 2019 Best Student Paper Award. A top prize of US$1,000 will be given for the best paper in energy economics. Three runner-up prizes of US$500 each will also be given. All four winners will receive a waiver of registration fees to the 2019 North American Conference held in Denver, CO, November 3-6, 2019. In addition to financial perks, participating in the Best Student Paper competition gives students a chance to receive feedback on their work from a committee of preeminent energy economists. To be considered for the Best Student Paper Award please follow the guidelines below.

To be eligible for consideration, the applicant must

The paper must

Application materials consist of

Additional Information

Please note: in order to receive the award, students must attend the conference and present their paper. All travel and accommodation costs associated with attending the conference are the responsibility of the award recipients.

The paper & application deadline is June 28, 2019. Please submit all materials electronically in pdf format to, with "Submission for Denver Best Student Paper Award" in the subject line. You will be notified by July 28, 2019, as to the disposition of your paper.

For further questions regarding the USAEE Student Paper Award, please contact USAEE Headquarters at

Further note that if you would like to present your paper at the Conference even if it does not receive a Best Paper Award (and thus get presented in a concurrent session), you must follow the regular paper submission procedures, submitting an abstract by May 31, 2019.

* The best paper award honors Dennis J. O'Brien, a champion of students and an early leader of our Association. Dennis J. O'Brien co-founded the US Association of Energy Economics as a chapter of the IAEE in the early 1990s. He was President of the US Chapter during 1994 and 1995. He was President of IAEE for 1997. Those who knew him remember him as being especially dedicated to helping students and energy economics professionals in the early stages of their career. He passed away in 2005 on his return from that year's North American Conference. The awards are funded in part by IAEE and USAEE members and sponsors who have contributed to the USAEE Student Support Fund.