Dennis J. O'Brien* Virtual USAEE/IAEE Best Student Paper Award

USAEE/IAEE invites students to submit papers for the 2020 Dennis J. O'Brien USAEE/IAEE Best Student Paper Award. The top four papers will be invited to present their work in a special Best Paper webinar organized by USAEE. The top paper, selected by a panel of energy economists, will receive US$1,000 and the three runner-up students receive prizes of US$500. All USAEE members will be invited to the Best Paper Competition webinar, making the Best Paper competition an excellent way to raise the visibility of your research.

To be eligible for consideration, the applicant must

Application materials consist of

Additional Information

Please note: in order to receive the award, students must present their work in the Best Paper Competition webinar.

The paper & application deadline is June 29, 2020. Please submit all materials electronically in pdf format to, with "Submission for Austin Best Student Paper Award" in the subject line. You will be notified by July 29, 2020, as to the disposition of your paper.

For further questions regarding the USAEE Student Paper Award, please contact USAEE Headquarters at

* The best paper award honors Dennis J. O'Brien, a champion of students and an early leader of our Association. Dennis J. O'Brien co-founded the US Association of Energy Economics as a chapter of the IAEE in the early 1990s. He was President of the US Chapter during 1994 and 1995. He was President of IAEE for 1997. Those who knew him remember him as being especially dedicated to helping students and energy economics professionals in the early stages of their career. He passed away in 2005 on his return from that year's North American Conference. The awards are funded in part by IAEE and USAEE members and sponsors who have contributed to the USAEE Student Support Fund.