Welcome and Introduction

The Dynamic Energy Landscape: Natural Gas in the U.S

Benjamin Schlesinger (Presiding)
President, Benjamin Schlesinger & Associates LLC

Vello Kuuskraa
President and Chairman, Advanced Resources International, Inc.
View Presentation

David J Spigelmyer
President, Marcellus Shale Coalition
View Presentation

Rusty Braziel
President, RBN Energy
View Presentation

Award Luncheon and Keynote Speaker

USAEE Adelman Frankel Award to: Adam E. Sieminski & Howard Gruenspecht

USAEE Senior Fellow Awards to: Robert Borgstrom, Amy Jaffe and Andrew Slaughter

IAEE Outstanding Contributions to the Profession Award to: Severin Borenstein

David A Hounshell (Keynote Speaker)
David M. Roderick Professor of Technology and Social Change, Carnegie Mellon University
"Two Centuries of Energy Transitions in the Pittsburgh Region"

Renewable Energy Integration

Julian Lamy (Presiding)
Research Assistant, Carnegie Mellon University

Jay Apt
Professor Tepper School of Business and Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Mike Speerschneider
Chief Permitting & Public Policy Officer, EverPower

Resmi Surendran
Senior Manager, Market Analysis and Design, ERCOT

Severin Borenstein
E.T. Grether Professor of Business Administration and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

USAEE/SPE Plenary Session - Water at the Well-site: Production, Handling and Disposal

Kenneth B Medlock (Co-Presiding)
Senior Director of the Center for Energy Studies (CES), James A. Baker III and Susan G. Baker Fellow in Energy Resource Economics, Baker Institute, Rice University

William Furlow (Co-Presiding)
Senior Manager Business Development, Society of Petroleum Engineers

Meagan Mauter
Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

John Walsh
Director of Consulting Services, CETCO Energy Services
View Presentation

Industrial Resurgence

Mine K Yucel (Presiding)
Senior Vice President and Research Director, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Peter C Balash
Senior Economist, U.S. Department of Energy
View Presentation

Martha Gilchrist Moore
Senior Director - Policy Analysis and Economics, American Chemistry Council
View Presentation

Tom Duesterberg
Program Director, Retired Executive Director, Manufacturing and Society in the 21st Century, Aspen Institute

Future of Coal

Jerald J Fletcher (Presiding)
Professor and Director Natural Resource Analysis Center, West Virginia University

James F Wood
Director of the Advanced Coal Technology, US-China Clean Energy Research Center, West Virginia University

Steve Winberg
Program Manager, Global Laboratory Operations, Battelle Global Laboratory Operations
View Presentation

Christopher Nichols
Senior Analyst, DOE-NETL Office of Strategic Energy Analysis and Planning (SEAP), U.S. Department of Energy


Jared Anderson (Presiding)
Editor, Breaking Energy

Eliza Northrop
Research Analyst II for the International Climate Action Initiative, World Resources Institute
View Presentation

M Granger Morgan
Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
View Presentation

Kevin Massy
Director International Affairs, Statoil

Electricity Markets

Steve Bossart (Presiding)
Senior Energy Analyst, NETL
View Presentation

Mario S DePillis
Principal, Economic and Energy Analysis
View Presentation

Ingmar Sterzing
VP, Power Supply and Energy Service, Pedernales Electric Cooperative
View Presentation

Howard Haas
Chief Economist, Monitoring Analytics
View Presentation


David H Knapp (Presiding)
Managing Director - Energy Intelligence Research Division, Energy Intelligence Group

Guy Caruso
Senior Advisor, Energy and National Security Program, CSIS

Edward Morse
Managing Director, Citigroup

Frank Linden
Senior Risk Management Officer, Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency

Energy Infrastructure

Christopher Nichols (Presiding)
Senior Analyst, DOE-NETL Office of Strategic Energy Analysis and Planning (SEAP), U.S. Department of Energy

John Schmitter
President, KEP, LLC
View Presentation

Donald F Santa
President and CEO, Interstate Natural Gas Association of America
View Presentation

William F Hederman
Deputy Director for Systems Integration and Sr Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy
View Presentation

Closing Plenray: Energy Finance & Risk Management

Tina Vital (Presiding)
Energy Investment Analyst

Michael Sell
Senior Vice President, ERP Program Manager, Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP)
View Presentation

Glen Swindle
Managing Partner, Scoville Risk Partners
View Presentation

Amy M Jaffe
Executive Director of Energy and Sustainability, University of California, Davis
View Presentation